Championship License Plate Campaign
Buckeye news ! !
The Middle Tennessee
Ohio State Club is sponsoring the Ohio State Championship license plate
here in Tennessee to promote The Ohio State University,
and to display our Buckeye pride each and every
day. The Tennessee
Legislature has authorized the Tennessee Ohio State Clubs to pre-sell and
pay for 1,000 plates state-wide.
When that work is completed, the new Ohio State plate will go into production.
The plate adds $35 per
year to your annual registration fee, and $15.38 of that goes directly to Ohio State
as scholarship money that is available
to all Tennessee high school graduates.
1 - Sign-Up Online
You can Sign-Up now PC or I-Phone
To reach the 1,000 Buckeye sign-up level, all five Tennessee Ohio State Clubs and
the many independent Game-Watch
groups around the state are going to have to make a joint Buckeye maximum effort.
Use the marketing bullet-points explained below.
When you Sign-Up, you are making a Buckeye Pledge to buy the Ohio
State Championship license plate when the time comes. You don't need
to tell us the type of plates or what you want on it - just the total number
of plates you intend to buy. We are counting on every Buckeye state-wide
to make this work.
Remember, you can also give the Ohio State Championship license plate
as a gift. When you Sign-Up for the plates, just indicate that
some of the Ohio State plates you are ordering will be gifts. After
you pay, we will know to contact
you for your gifting details.
And lastly, when you successfully Sign-Up, you will receive an email confirming your Buckeye Pledge.
Phase 2 - Pay for the first 1,000 Plates
Once we have collected 1,000 Buckeye Pledges for the new Ohio State Championship
license plate, we will then accept online payments for the number of plates
you want - $35 per plate. The paid quantity can be different than what
you Pledged, but we are counting
on you for your Pledged number. You will then make a single payment for
all of the plates you ordered.
You cannot order or pay for a personalized
plate (SHOE, OSU45,OHST8, etc)
during the first 1,000 plates campaign. Once the Ohio State Championship
plate is in production, you can then order a personalized plate directly from Tennessee Titles and Registration.
If you don't use email, or if you don't
make payments on the web, ask a Buckeye friend to register you and
to make the payment for you when that time comes. That will save us many volunteer hours.
The time-stamp on your
actual payment will establish your place in line for your license plate number(s).
The sooner you pay, the lower your plate number. If you pay for two
or more plates, they will be sequentially numbered.
In most Tennessee counties, your annual vehicle registration renewal is roughly $50 or a bit
more. The Ohio State Championship plate will add $35 per year
Once we collect the $35,000 for the 1,000 plates, we will write one check
to the Tennessee Department of Revenue and submit the sequenced Paid Sign-Up
list. We will also submit the final plate design shortly thereafter.
Timeline and FYI's
Our window to get the plate into production ends July 1, 2019
After we submit the list,
the check and the plate design, Tennessee Titles and Registration estimates
that it will require
four to six months to
produce the plate, to do live field tests, to process the payments to your
individual accounts, and to mail your plate(s) out to your County
Once the Ohio State
plate is in production and available:
1) If you are in the list of 1,000 pre-paid plates - you will receive
a postal letter directly from Tennessee Titles and Registration that lists your new plate number with
instructions to pick it up at your
. And, T&R will have your assigned license plate there waiting
for you to bring in your old plate for exchange.
2) Even if you were not part of the first 1,000,
you can still take your current
plate to your county office and exchange it for the Ohio State Championship
license plate (you will get next sequential number at
They will only stock a few extra Ohio State plates for walk-ins, so you might
want to call before you go.
3) This is also the time when you can
on-line order a personalized plate (SHOE, OSU45,OHST8, URBAN,
from Titles and Registration.
Pick Up Your License Plate
To pick up your plates, you will need a current Certificate of Compliance if your county requires Vehicle
Emissions Testing. Your previous certificate is valid for 90 days.
Listen up - You don't have to wait until your current
tag expires to order or to pick-up your new Ohio State Championship
license plate. Even if you renewed your
plate yesterday, you need to Sign-Up today and pay the moment we
reach 1,000 Pledges.
Then, when the Ohio State plate is in production and available, take your
current, recently renewed, plate to your
county office for exchange.
You will pay your regular one-year registration fee and get full credit for all unused months on your current
tag. The $35 specialty fee will have already been paid during
this Campaign, of course. Your new Ohio State plate is then good for
a full year. It's that simple.
FYI - Some counties also
charge an extra $1 Specialty Plate fee when you pick up your plate.
- Asked & Answered
- Every Tennessee Buckeye can buy the plate. You do not have to be
an Ohio State Alum.
- If you get more than one tag they will be sequentially numbered
- ...and you can register any tag on any vehicle - but it has to stay
- Ohio State Championship plates are not available for motorcycles
- Yes, you can give the Ohio State Championship license plate
as a gift. When you
Sign-Up for the plates, just indicate that some of the Ohio State plates
you are ordering will be gifts. Later, when you pay, we will know to contact you for
your gifting details.
- No, you don't have to wait for your
current tag to expire to order or to pick-up your new Ohio State license
plate. That is just one big, fat, lollygagging, Michi-gander Myth.
Don't fall for that. Be a Buckeye. Sign-Up today.
- For those with Handicapped Driver plates - when you pick
up your Ohio State Championship plate, ask for the free Handicapped
Driver sticker so that your Ohio State
plate works just the same as a Handicapped Driver plate
- In future years, you can renew your Ohio State Championship plate by mail
or online just like you do now
How You Can Help Us Sign-Up More Buckeyes
Get one more Buckeye to sign up. Make
it your personal mission.
Promote the Ohio State Championship License
Plate to your Ohio State Club or game-watch email lists. And post a notice
to your social media. We are planning to do all Sign-Ups, payments, and follow-ups without using postal mail.
plate is a joint project of the Ohio State Alumni Association and the Middle
Tennessee Ohio State Club
The plate design is NOT yet
approved by Tennessee Titles and Registrations nor by The Ohio State University
The www.capp.org web address will not appear on the production
License Plate Sign-Up FAQs
Last Revised June 19, 2018